Bireli Lagrene: Gypsy Jazz Guitar Artistry (Book + Online Audio)
30729M

In the tradition of Django Reinhardt, Biréli Lagrène is one of most highly regarded Gypsy jazz, bebop, and fusion guitarists of recent decades. Once regarded as a child prodigy, he has performed with such legendary players as Benny Goodman, Stéphan Grappelli, Al Di Meola, Paco de Lucía, John McLaughlin and countless others. Given that roster, one might assume that Lagrène is quite advanced in years, but this is not the case; the fact is, he w ...more

Product Number:
30729M
Format:
Book + Online Audio
Skill Level:
Intermediate
Notation Type:
Standard Notation and Tab
Pages:
44
Binding:
Saddle Stitched
Size:
8.75 x 11.75
ISBN:
1-5134-6170-2
ISBN13:
978-15134-6170-0
Publisher:
TAGA Publishing
Date Published:
9/12/2018

In the tradition of Django Reinhardt, Biréli Lagrène is one of most highly regarded Gypsy jazz, bebop, and fusion guitarists of recent decades. Once regarded as a child prodigy, he has performed with such legendary players as Benny Goodman, Stéphan Grappelli, Al Di Meola, Paco de Lucía, John McLaughlin and countless others. Given that roster, one might assume that Lagrène is quite advanced in years, but this is not the case; the fact is, he was drawn to the guitar as a child of four, and after auditioning at the intermission, was invited onstage with Grapelli for the second half- when he was only ten years old.

While Lagrène is primarily an ear player, he has collaborated with TAGA Publishing to produce an exceptional book filled with insightful tips on playing the Gypsy jazz style. Biréli Lagrène: Gypsy Jazz Guitar Artistry introduces the intermediate jazz guitarist to the essential rhythms used in Gypsy jazz accompaniment, as well as to the vocabulary needed to improvise in the Gypsy jazz style.

Not for the faint of heart, the book includes access to online audio recordings of 33 rhythm exercises and licks to incorporate the right feel or panache in your own Gypsy jazz performance style. The musical examples are written in either chord symbols or standard notation and tablature.

Preface.....................................................................................................................3
Interview with Biréli Lagrène....................................................................................4
Brief History of Django Reinhardt............................................................................6
Django Reinhardt-Style Rhythm Examples
Example 1................................................................................................................8
Example 2................................................................................................................9
Example 3..............................................................................................................10
Example 4..............................................................................................................11
Example 5..............................................................................................................12
Example 6..............................................................................................................14
Example 7..............................................................................................................16
Example 8..............................................................................................................17
Django Reinhardt-Style Lines
Example 9..............................................................................................................18
Example 10............................................................................................................19
Example 11............................................................................................................20
Example 12............................................................................................................21
Example 13............................................................................................................22
Example 14............................................................................................................23
Example 15............................................................................................................24
Example 16............................................................................................................25
Example 17............................................................................................................26
Licks Based on Finger Patterns
Example 18............................................................................................................27
Example 19............................................................................................................28
Example 20............................................................................................................29
Neighbor-Note Licks
Example 21............................................................................................................30
Example 22............................................................................................................31
Example 23............................................................................................................32
Diminished Arpeggio Licks
Example 24............................................................................................................33
Example 25............................................................................................................34
Example 26............................................................................................................35
Example 27............................................................................................................36
Other Arpeggio Licks
Example 28............................................................................................................37
Example 29............................................................................................................38
Example 30............................................................................................................39
Example 31a..........................................................................................................40
Example 31b..........................................................................................................41
Example 31c..........................................................................................................41
Example 31d..........................................................................................................42
Example 32............................................................................................................42
Example 33............................................................................................................43
 
Audio Sample 1
Audio Sample 2
Series:
Get the extra files for your Mel Bay book by clicking the "Download Extras" button below.

downloadextras
The .zip file contains all of the extras you will need to help you learn from your Mel Bay book. Once it is downloaded to your computer, double-click the file to open. You can find out more about .zip files here.

If you are having trouble opening or downloading this file, please contact us.
Book + Online Audio
PRICE:
$ 19.99
PRICE:
$ 14.99
Hot Club Session

Author : by Felix Schell
Format : Book + Online Audio
Getting into Gypsy Jazz Guitar

Author : by Stephane Wrembel
Format : Book + Online Audio
L'Esprit Manouche

Author : by Romane and Derek Sebastian
Format : Book + Online Audio